New Cat, and soon to be partner cat

Life has been helter skelter for about 3-4 years.  I haven’t been able to have a pet for longer than that because of uncertainties in life.  Things are starting to stabilize, and I figured I’d take the next step!  I normally have gone with dogs or ferrets due to the pack mentality.  The thing is, I’m not home enough to have pack oriented pets.  It wouldn’t be right of me to do such a thing.  I took the next step, and since I’ve never been a cat person I decided I’d get a cat.  Sounds stupid, doesn’t it?  The idea is, don’t go with cats that have a personality I abhor.  Adoptable cats never were my style, they’ve always been not my style.  I’m sure there’s a reason for that, and I’m not up for psycho-analyzing things right now.  After lots of searching, I found one that’s a perfect challenge for me!  A 1-month old kitten that was found by a couple of guys in the bushes near downtown Phoenix.

After having her for 2 weeks, I can tell she was removed from her mother far too early and needs behavior management work.  Trust issues as well.  She also has no role models in her life.  I’ve decided that she needs a partner in her life.  Instead of getting another homeless cat, I’ve decided it’d be best to go with a cat that’d be more my style and an excellent role model.  I’m picking up a ragdoll breed cat, more like a dog than a cat in behavior and very friendly.  There’s a breeder in south Cali that breeds for movies/videos, but unfortunately they’re retiring very soon since they’ve been in operation since the mid 1970’s.  Ragnorok Cattery in San Bernardino, California.  I’ll be driving over there this weekend to pick one out, and I’m aiming for a bicolor… but I’m torn between that and the blue colorpoint.  Since they are pedigree with absolutely no crossing of breed, I’ll know what I’m up against along with a lifespan of over 15 years.

These two were in the movie “Lone Ranger” in 2013 with Johnny Depp.

dn2

Leave a Reply

