Gluten free home-made Pitas, and Pita Chips!

chips-and-hummus
Having a little extra time on my hands, I thought I’d do something I’ve been wanting to do for quite some time… make my own pita instead of buying someone elses with god knows what in it. I found a recipe that seemed nearly perfect, but included coconut flour. BAD thing since my girlfriend is allergic to coconut, so that eliminates that! The severe downside is that the recipe relies upon the moisture-absorbing power of coconut flour.
After looking around for hours through different flours and their characteristics, I ran across garbanzo flour (Gram flour, chickpea flour, whatever) which is made from garbanzo beans/chickpeas. It has thickening properties, and after working with it I think it made a great alternative for coconut flour!  I have a finished product, and the recipe will be below.

The upside is with this recipe you can make pitas & pita chips!

Makes: 2 Pita bread (yields 4 pita pockets)

Ingredients:
1 large egg
1/4 cup of water
1 tablespoon oil or melted butter
4 tablespoon garbanzo flour (or gram flour or chickpea flour), firmly packed – firmly packed is very important
1/4 cup almond flour, firmly packed
1/8 teaspoon salt – use a good quality salt
1/8 teaspoon baking soda

Mix the eggs, water, and oil/melted butter together good, then mix in the rest.  Make sure you really pack the flour when measuring it.
I put the batter into a 1-cup measuring cup (it’s about 3/4 cup).
Put parchment paper down onto baking sheet, and pour the batter into 5-6 inch circles.  Smooth it out with a spoon or other utensil.
Bake at 350 degrees for 15-20 minutes.
Pull it out, slide the parchment off of the baking sheet, and let the bread cool for a couple of minutes.

Here is my final product before cutting:

pita-full-topAfter cooling, you cut it in half:

pita-half-topIf you’re making pita pockets, now is the time to run a blade through the center slowly and create the pocket (this is after I cut mine, notice how flexible it is):

pita-half-cut

 

If your wanting to make the bread into chips, cut the pita half completely in half instead of simply making the pocket.  Then slice each into wedges/chips and bake at 350 degrees for about 7-10 minutes.

I’m going to experiment with different sizes of pita bread in order to get larger pockets, along with experimenting with an entire baking tray full of batter for chip making.

Thought I’d share!

 

 

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.